Press release, June 26, 2022 

The Awards 2022 –  The Plains by David Easteal wins the Peter Liechti Award 2022

The Australian director accepted the award from last year’s winner and juror Norika Sefa (Looking for Venera). The Lucky Ticket, awarded for the first time, went to Kapr Code by Lucie Králová, and the Short Film Prize to The Last Name of John Cage by Margaux Guillemard. 


The Plains by David Easteal is a documentary-like Australian road movie that takes place almost exclusively inside a car. From the back seat, the camera accompanies Andrew, a middle-aged Melbourne lawyer, on his drive home from work. Sometimes his colleague, film director David Easteal, rides along. The uniformity of the everyday commute invites viewers to take note of the little things in life, like the seemingly boring moments that often pass by unnoticed. The Plains by David Easteal was presented as a Swiss premiere in the international program. 


Filmmaker Norika Sefa, who was awarded the Peter Liechti Prize 2021 at the 10th Bildrausch with her debut film Looking for Venera, passed on the prize to David Easteal in person. The juror justified her decision, among other things, with the “physical effect” that the approximately three-hour film triggers. “The Plains is a film that encourages a different relationship between the screen and the spectator and finds an interesting, subtle but strong way to combine the personal and the political. It’s actually a film that challenges its own genre: it’s a road movie, but that doesn’t rush to arrive anywhere in particular. Instead, it asks everyone to stop and breathe, recall and remember.” The Peter Liechti Award is endowed with CHF 5,000. The award is in the shape of a lying figure of eight and was designed by Luzia Vogt from Basel.


The Lucky Ticket, awarded for the first time and also endowed with CHF 5,000, went to Kapr Code by Lucie Králová on Saturday evening after a playful regatta on the St. Alban pond. The screening of the cinematic opera marks the conclusion of this year’s Bildrausch, tonight at 8:00 pm at Gare du Nord. The film will be screened with live audio description and voiceover of the dialogues in German and in the presence of the director and the editor Adam Brothánek.


Producer Suzanne van Voorst accepted the Honorary Award for Visionary Filmmaking for Peruvian-Dutch filmmaker Heddy Honigmann. Ahjin Kim and Min Young Kim designed a leporello for her, which traces the flow of the Rhine from Basel to the Netherlands and in which Heddy Honigmann’s filmography is inscribed. Heddy Honigmann, who died in Amsterdam on May 21, was honored with a tribute at Bildrausch.


The jury of the short film program was impressed by the “interplay of outer silence and inner noise” in The Last Name of John Cage. The young French filmmaker Margaux Guillemard won the Short Film Award 2022, valued at CHF 1,000, for this work.


> Download Press release Awards 2022 (.pdf)

> More Press Releases