Basel, June 14, 2021 

Numerous guests from around the world 

On Wednesday, 16 June, the Italian-Belgian feature film Miss Marx opens our birthday edition in the presence of director Susanna Nicchiarelli. Until 20 June, we screen a total of 80 short and feature-length films, including numerous Swiss premieres, which will be accompanied by the filmmakers. The international competition will be juried by Austrian director and producer Barbara Albert (Licht, Nordrand), Swedish cinematographer Lisabi Fridell (And Then We Danced) and British film critic Neil Young.

Other guests of the birthday edition include the following directors and authors, who will attend the Festival in person: Namin Ahmadpour, Oskar Alegria, Ahmat Bahrami, Christophe Cognet, Julien Faraut, Siegfried A. Fruhauf, Joana Hadjithomas, Khalil Joreige, Masud Kimiai, Alexandre Koberidze, Tim Leyendekker, Shahram Mokri, Bill Morrison, Jeremiah Lemohang Mosese, Susanna Nicchiarelli, Norika Sefa and Ludwig Wüst. Also present will be actors Tom Schilling and Albrecht Schuch, producers Felix von Boehm and Luis Miñarro, and film critic Kevin B. Lee.
Julian Radlmaier (Bloodsuckers) and Alexandre Rockwell (Sweet Thing) will participate in  live Q&As via video link. Due to strict Canadian quarantine regulations, Félix Dufour-Laperrière (retrospective Islands in the Stream) and Zacharias Kunuk (One Day in the Life of Noah Piuagattuk) will not be able to attend. They will join in live via Zoom and with a pre-produced Q&A respectively.
Honorary award winner Dominik Graf has to forego a trip to Basel for health reasons, but will be represented by the cast and crew of his new film Fabian: Going to the Dogs: "I am enormously happy about the award and I am very proud of it. It would have been great. But things have changed, my health has put a spanner in the works and I have to stay at home. I thank you for all the effort of thought you have put into this and the preparations you have made."
Dominik Graf will receive his award during a video call at the awards ceremony on Sunday 20 June.


> More News