Magic moments, captured by our photographers 

> see the pics



New Festival Trailer

Carte blanche to Radu Jude: The Romanian director makes a statement 



June 26, 2022

The Short Film Award goes to ... 

The Last Name of John Cage by Margaux Guillemard


> read more


May 23, 2022

Heddy Honigmann

Bildrausch honors Heddy Honigmann, one of the great filmmakers of our time


> read more


June 26, 2021

The Lucky Ticket

Kapr Code by Lucie Králová won the prize with number 13 


> read more

Bildrausch Boulevard

One heart and one cinema

Athina Rachel Tsangari and Dušan Makavejev (1932-2019) at the first Bildrausch in 2011



The festival directors Beat Schneider (left) and Nicole Reinhard name a prize after their first jury member, the radical Swiss filmmaker Peter Liechti (1951-2014, centre)


Howe Gelb

Basel, let's hang out and play


69 Hotel Rooms

In 2012, the filmmaker and author Michael Glawogger (1959-2014) invited us on an unforgettable voyage of discovery through his still unreleased book


After Sunset

Between Calexico and David Lynch: Acapulco Radio, Berlin's gods of cultivated Twang, at their first Swiss concert at the Bildrausch Salon


And the Bildrausch Ring of Film Art goes to...

British filmmaker Joanna Hogg reads the laudatory speech for Alejandro Jodorowsky and La danza de la realidad


The film banquet

Our happy round table in 2014


The magic of a cinema night

A different kind of 3D projection


A total work of art

Peter Strickland rocks Bildrausch 2015 with his Sonic Catering Band


Pure poetry

Ruth Beckermann talks about her film The Dreamed Ones in 2016


Photo bomb

Beat Schneider, Jean Perret, Mani Haghighi, Christine Dollhofer, Nicole Reinhard, Albert Serra, Eugène Green (from left to right)



Bruno Ganz (1941-2019) presents The Party by Sally Potter in the International Competition in 2017


The Storyteller

Lav Diaz – seeker of truths, hero of slow cinema and winner of the Bildrausch Ring of Film Art in 2018 – answers questions from his fans


«You talkin' to me?»

Film karaoke on Theaterplatz


Challenging brilliance

Kim Ki-duk (1960-2020) presents his gently enraged spy thriller The Net (Geumul) in the International Competition


Passionate grace

The British directing legend Terence Davies (right) enchants Bildrausch in 2017


A grand prize with character

The Bildrausch Ring of Film Art


About the unpredictability of life

"This is the first time I'm getting married to a film festival": Tereza Villaverde wins the Bildrausch Ring of Film Art in 2017 for Colo


From Basel to the Oscars

RaMell Ross shows Hale County, This Morning, This Evening in the International Competition in 2018


The Honorary Award for Visionary Filmmaking

A gold ring honours special merit in auteur filmmaking and film art


A chronicler of the damned

Author and director Paul Schrader wears the Honorary Ring of Visionary Filmmaking for his transcendental as well as raging opus


Let's toast... cinema and to friendship!


Cinema as a locus of truth

Documentary filmmaker Gianfranco Rosi (right) at Thinking/Space


A Swiss filmmaking family

A class reunion at the special programme Joining Reni Mertens and Walter Marti in the Future


A special prize with attitude

Jolanda Gsponer (left, Liechti Filmproduktion) hands over the first Peter Liechti Prize to Aya Koretzky for A volta ao mundo quando tinhas 30 anos

"I don't do interviews, I make conversation."

We dedicate the Tribute 2022 to director Heddy Honigmann