Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
International Program

The Plains

David Easteal

Friday *Fri *24.06.202224.06.2214:00Stadtkino Basel
Sunday Sun 26.06.202226.06.2212:00Stadtkino Basel
Sunday Sun 26.06.202226.06.2221:00Stadtkino Basel

David Easteal

Australia 2022. 180 Min.
Color. English/ DE

In presence of the director

 

This is an unexpected road movie; at the same time, it’s a huis-clos film whose set consists almost entirely of the inside of a car. Except for the idyllic drone glimpses of leisure time spent in the countryside that function in direct contrast. We are taken into the vehicle of Andrew, a middle-aged Melbourne lawyer, as he returns home from work over the course of a year. He sometimes gives a lift to David (the director), a work colleague. The lost time of the daily commutes, dreaded by most, receives an unlikely engaging treatment and by extension invites us to treasure the small little things in life. Not the clearly charming chirping bird you have paid no attention to, but those dull moments in disguise that can just slip by unnoticed.

As the ending of this understated epic journey nears its course, we can’t help feeling as if we are reaching the end of a book that has moved us deeply and we begin to stall the reading, savoring each page in contention so it doesn’t come to the unavoidable end. The same happens with this film; we grow strongly attached to these characters, their humanity revealed unassumingly, their worries and warmth, we share their perspective from our back seat in the car, we’ve become travel companions not an audience. So much so that we want the ride to continue.

(Susana Santos Rodrigues)

CREDITS

DirectorDavid Easteal
ScreenplayDavid Eastea
CinematographySimon J. Walsh
EditingDavid Eastea
MusicNick Batterham
WithAndrew Rakowski, David Easteal, Cheri LeCornu, Inga Rakowski
Sound DesignNick Batterham
SoundSteven Bond, David Easteal
ProducerDavid Easteal
World SalesPascale Ramonda

David Easteal

David Easteal (b. 1986) is a Melbourne based filmmaker. He studied law and literature at the University of Melbourne, and currently practises as a barrister at the Victorian Bar. His short films screened at various international festivals, including the New York, BFI London, Chicago, Kiev Molodist, Sofia and Singapore film festivals. He received the Award for Emerging Australian Filmmaker at the 2015 Melbourne International Film Festival. His first feature-length film, The Plains, received the Films en Cours post-production support award at Belfort International Film Festival Entrevues. The Plains premiered at International Film Festival Rotterdam 2022 as part of the Tiger Competition.

Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Internationales Programm

The Plains

David Easteal

Freitag *Fr *24.06.202224.06.2214:00Stadtkino Basel
Sonntag So 26.06.202226.06.2212:00Stadtkino Basel
Sonntag So 26.06.202226.06.2221:00Stadtkino Basel

David Easteal

Australien 2022. 180 Min.
Farbe. Englisch/DE

In Anwesenheit des Regisseurs

 

The Plains ist ein ungewöhnliches Roadmovie und gleichzeitig ein in sich geschlossener Film, dessen Kulisse fast ausschliesslich das Innere eines Autos bildet. Abgesehen von den idyllischen Drohnenaufnahmen von Freizeitaktivitäten auf dem Land, die im direkten Kontrast dazu stehen. Wir begleiten Andrew, einen Anwalt mittleren Alters aus Melbourne, im Laufe eines Jahres auf seiner Heimfahrt von der Arbeit. Manchmal nimmt er seinen Kollegen David (den Regisseur des Films) mit. Die verlorene Zeit des täglichen Pendelns, das vielen ein Gräuel ist, wird hier auf unglaublich einnehmende Weise beleuchtet und lädt uns dazu ein, die kleinen Dinge des Lebens zu schätzen: nicht den offensichtlich bezaubernden zwitschernden Vogel, dem man keine Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt hat, sondern die scheinbar langweiligen Momente, die unbemerkt an einem vorbeiziehen können.

 

Gegen Ende dieser unaufdringlichen epischen Reise fühlt man sich so wie beim Lesen der letzten Seiten eines Buchs, das einen zutiefst berührt hat: Man beginnt, die Lektüre hinauszuzögern und jede einzelne Seite auszukosten, damit es nicht zum unvermeidlichen Ende kommt. Gleiches gilt für den Film: Die Figuren wachsen uns ans Herz, ihre Menschlichkeit, die sich ganz leise offenbart, ihre Sorgen und ihre Wärme. Wir teilen ihre Perspektive von unserem Rücksitz im Auto aus, sind nicht mehr nur Zuschauer:innen, sondern zu Reisebegleiter:innen geworden und wollen, dass die Fahrt weitergeht.

(Susana S. Rodrigues)

CREDITS

RegieDavid Easteal
BuchDavid Eastea
KameraSimon J. Walsh
SchnittDavid Eastea
MusikNick Batterham
MitAndrew Rakowski, David Easteal, Cheri LeCornu, Inga Rakowski
SounddesignNick Batterham
TonSteven Bond, David Easteal
Produzent:inDavid Easteal
WeltvertriebPascale Ramonda

David Easteal

David Easteal (geb. 1986) ist ein in Melbourne lebender Filmemacher. Er studierte Jura und Literatur an der Universität von Melbourne und praktiziert derzeit als Anwalt an der Anwaltskammer von Victoria. Seine Kurzfilme wurden auf mehreren internationalen Festivals gezeigt, darunter in New York, BFI London, Chicago, Kiew Molodist, Sofia und Singapur. Er erhielt den Award for Emerging Australian Filmmaker auf dem Internationalen Filmfestival von Melbourne 2015. Sein erster Langfilm, The Plains, erhielt den den Preis für Postproduktionsunterstützung von Films en Cours beim Belfort International Film Festival Entrevues. The Plains feierte seine Premiere beim Internationalen Filmfestival Rotterdam 2022 im Rahmen der Tiger Competition.