Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Opening and Closing Films

STOP·ZEMLIA

Kateryna Gornostai

Wednesday Wed 22.06.202222.06.2220:00Stadtkino-Piazza
Wednesday Wed 22.06.202222.06.2220:00kult.kino atelier

Kateryna Gornostai

Ukraine 2021. 122 Min.
Color. Ukrainian/ DE, EN

For technical reasons only in Stadtkino with descriptive subtitles in German. Moderation will be translated into sign language. Limited number of seats! Reservation by June 15 strongly recommended.

 

Director Kateryna Gornostai on her film: Masha’s story has autobiographical roots. She resembles me at the age of 16. Looking back, I realize that my first experience of an innocent slow dance influenced the formation of my sexuality more profoundly than my first sexual experience itself. This inspired me to create a film, which tells about the sensual encounters of its characters at that age when existential experience is at its most vivid. I wrote the first draft of the script on the basis of a commonplace personal drama about unrequited teenage love, focusing on the “life-that-never-happens” aspect that interests me the most. To me, it was crucial to fill it with the macro-world of the characters and tactile details of their relationship. 

 

Stop.Zemlia emphasizes the tender and vulnerable everyday life of urban Ukrainian youth, which came to an abrupt end with the Russian war of aggression. The experiences of the youths are touching in their open directness.

 

The director and Pluto Film are requesting support for children with cancer in Kiev: Tabletochki

(Susanne Guggenberger)

CREDITS

DirectorKateryna Gornostai
ScreenplayKateryna Gornostai
CinematographyOleksandr Roshchyn
EditingKateryna Gornostai, Nikon Romanchenko
MusicMaryana Klochko
WithMaria Fedorchenko, Arsenii Markov, Yana Isaienko, Oleksandr Ivanov
Sound DesignMykhailo Zakutskyi
SoundOleh Holovoshkin
ProducersOlga Beskhmelnitsyna, Viktoria Khomenko, Vitalii Sheremetiev, Vika Khomenko
DistributionPluto Film

Kateryna Gornostai

Kateryna Gornostai is a director, writer and film editor. She was born in Lutsk, Ukraine on March 15, 1989, and is now living in Kyiv. She has studied filmmaking at Marina Razbezhkina and Mikhail Ugarov’s School of Documentary Film and Theatre, and started her career as a documentary filmmaker in 2012. Subsequently, she shifted to fiction films and hybrid forms. Film critics notice her style and ability to portray life without artificiality. Now, she also teaches documentary filmmaking at Kyiv-Mohyla Academy’s School of Journalism.

Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Eröffnungs- und Abschlussfilme

STOP·ZEMLIA

Kateryna Gornostai

Mittwoch Mi 22.06.202222.06.2220:00Stadtkino-Piazza
Mittwoch Mi 22.06.202222.06.2220:00kult.kino atelier

Kateryna Gornostai

Ukraine 2021. 122 Min.
Farbe. Ukrainisch/ EN, DE

Aus technischen Gründen nur im Stadtkino mit deskriptiven Untertiteln in deutscher Sprache. Moderation wird in Gebärdensprache übersetzt. Limitierte Platzzahl! Reservierung bis 15. Juni dringend empfohlen.

 

Die Regisseurin Kateryna Gornostai zu ihrem Film: Mashas Geschichte hat autobiografische Wurzeln. Sie ähnelt mir im Alter von 16 Jahren. Rückblickend wird mir klar, dass mein erstes Erlebnis eines unschuldigen langsamen Tanzes die Entwicklung meiner Sexualität stärker beeinflusst hat als meine erste sexuelle Erfahrung selbst. Das inspirierte mich, einen Film zu machen, der von den sinnlichen Begegnungen seiner Charaktere in jenem Alter erzählt, in dem die existenziellen Erfahrungen am intensivsten sind. Den ersten Entwurf des Drehbuchs schrieb ich auf Basis eines alltäglichen persönlichen Dramas über eine unerwiderte Teenagerliebe, wobei ich mich auf den Aspekt des «Lebens, das nie passiert» konzentrierte, der mich am meisten interessiert. Für mich war es entscheidend, es mit der Makrowelt der Protagonist:innen und den greifbaren Details ihrer Beziehung zu füllen. 

 

Stop.Zemlia betont den zarten und verletzlichen Alltag der urbanen ukrainischen Jugend, die mit dem russischen Angriffskrieg ein abruptes Ende gefunden hat. Die Erfahrungen der Jugendlichen berühren in ihrer offenen Direktheit.

 

Die Regisseurin und Pluto Film ersuchen um Unterstützung von krebskranken Kindern in Kiew: Tabletochki

(Susanne Guggenberger)

CREDITS

RegieKateryna Gornostai
BuchKateryna Gornostai
KameraOleksandr Roshchyn
SchnittKateryna Gornostai, Nikon Romanchenko
MusikMaryana Klochko
MitMaria Fedorchenko, Arsenii Markov, Yana Isaienko, Oleksandr Ivanov
SounddesignMykhailo Zakutskyi
TonOleh Holovoshkin
Produzent:innenOlga Beskhmelnitsyna, Viktoria Khomenko, Vitalii Sheremetiev, Vika Khomenko
VerleihPluto Film

Kateryna Gornostai

Kateryna Gornostai ist Regisseurin, Autorin und Filmeditorin. Sie wurde am 15. März 1989 in Lutsk, Ukraine, geboren und lebt heute in Kiew. Sie studierte Filmmaking an der Marina Razbezhkina and Mikhail Ugarov's School of Documentary Film and Theatre und begann ihre Karriere als Dokumentarfilmerin im Jahr 2012. Danach wechselte sie zu Spielfilmen und Mischformen. Filmkritiker anerkennen ihren Stil und ihre Fähigkeit, das Leben ohne Künstlichkeit darzustellen. Jetzt unterrichtet sie auch documentary filmmaking an der Journalistenschule der Kyiv-Mohyla-Akademie.