Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
International Program

Rewind & Play

Alain Gomis

Thursday Thu 23.06.202223.06.2214:00Stadtkino Basel
Saturday Sat 25.06.202225.06.2222:15kult.kino atelier

Alain Gomis

France, Germany 2022. 65 Min.
Color. English, French/ EN

On December 15, 1969, Thelonious Monk landed in Paris for an upcoming concert and was immediately whisked off to a French television station where he was to be interviewed by musician-producer Henri Renaud for a recording on the program Jazz Portrait. The aired segment ran for 30 minutes, yet the recording session itself lasted two hours – which the great jazz icon spent under the baking-hot studio lights, surrounded by an army of cameramen speaking a language he did not understand and a media-machine’s dehumanizing exigency to reduce an artist’s life and work to a series of cued soundbites and trivial anecdotes. 

 

With Rewind & Play, Alain Gomis reassembles that session’s raw footage, freeing truth from mediated image. Through rhythmic syncopation similar to Monk’s own, Gomis undercuts the linearity of dictated narrative by letting silent passages speak for Monk’s muted reactions, while repeated lines of questioning reveal the subliminal racism of “jazz portraiture.” Even as close-ups of pained eyes and streams of sweat become a testament to this punishing ordeal, it is through performance that Monk regains liberation and Gomis, in turn, restores him the agency of self-representation.

 

“It brings tears to my eyes when I see the shit that my father was going through.” T.S. Monk Jr.

(Andrei Tănăsescu)

CREDITS

DirectorAlain Gomis
EditingAlain Gomis
Sound DesignMatthieu Deniau
SoundMatthieu Deniau
Production CompanyAnouk Khélifa (Sphere Films), Arnaud Dommerc (Andolfi)
World SalesAndolfi / Sphere Films

Alain Gomis

The Franco-Senegalese filmmaker Alain Gomis studied art history at the Sorbonne (France). He made his directorial debut in 2002 with L’Afrance, a film about the struggles of migrants in France which won a Silver Leopard award at the Locarno Film Festival. His film Andalucia was shown at the Venice Film Festival in 2012. Aujourd’hui (TEY), shown in competition at the Berlinale, won a Golden Stalion at Fespaco. He returned to the Berlinale in 2017 with Félicité. The film won him the competition’s Grand Jury Prize, a second Gold Stallion at Fespaco, and represented Senegal at the Oscars where it was shortlisted for Best Foreign Language Film.

Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Internationales Programm

Rewind & Play

Alain Gomis

Donnerstag Do 23.06.202223.06.2214:00Stadtkino Basel
Samstag Sa 25.06.202225.06.2222:15kult.kino atelier

Alain Gomis

Frankreich, Deutschland 2022. 65 Min.
Farbe. Englisch, Französisch/ EN

Am 15. Dezember 1969 landete Thelonious Monk anlässlich eines bevorstehenden Konzerts in Paris und wurde unmittelbar nach seiner Ankunft zu einem französischen Fernsehsender gebracht, wo ihn der Musiker und Produzent Henri Renaud empfang, um Aufnahmen für die Sendung Jazz Portrait zu machen. Der ausgestrahlte Beitrag dauerte 30 Minuten, die Session selbst jedoch zwei Stunden. Zwei Stunden, welche die große Jazz-Ikone unter dem glühend heißen Studiolicht verbrachte, umgeben von einem Heer von Kameraleuten, deren Sprache er nicht verstand, und der Entmenschlichung der Medienmaschine ausgesetzt, die das Leben und die Arbeit eines Künstlers auf abgehackte Soundbites und triviale Anekdoten reduziert.

 

In Rewind & Play setzt Alain Gomis das Rohmaterial dieser Session neu zusammen und enthüllt die Wahrheit hinter dem medialen Bild. Durch rhythmische Synkopen, die denen von Monk ähneln, unterläuft der Regisseur die Linearität der diktierten Erzählung, indem er stille Passagen für Monks gedämpfte Reaktionen sprechen lässt, während wiederholte Fragestellungen den unterschwelligen Rassismus des «Jazzporträts» offenbaren. Obwohl Großaufnahmen von schmerzenden Augen und Schweißströmen von der Tortur zeugen, wird Monk durch die Performance wieder befreit, und Gomis gibt ihm im Gegenzug die Möglichkeit der Selbstdarstellung zurück.

 

«Es treibt mir die Tränen in die Augen, wenn ich sehe, was mein Vater alles durchgemacht hat.» T.S. Monk Jr.

(Andrei Tănăsescu)

CREDITS

RegieAlain Gomis
SchnittAlain Gomis
SounddesignMatthieu Deniau
TonMatthieu Deniau
ProduktionAnouk Khélifa (Sphere Films), Arnaud Dommerc (Andolfi)
WeltvertriebAndolfi / Sphere Films

Alain Gomis

Der französisch-senegalesische Filmemacher Alain Gomis studierte Kunstgeschichte an der Sorbonne (Frankreich). Sein Regiedebüt gab er 2002 mit L’Afrance, einem Film über die Kämpfe von Migranten in Frankreich, der mit dem Silver Leopard den dem Locarno Film Festival ausgezeichnet wurde. Sein Film Andalucia wurde 2012 bei dem Venice Film Festival gezeigt. Aujourd’hui (TEY), der im Wettbewerb der Berlinale lief, gewann einen Golden Stalion beim Fespaco. Mit Félicité kehrte er 2017 zur Berlinale zurück. Der Film gewann den Grand Jury Prize, einen zweiten Gold Stalion beim Fespaco und vertrat Senegal bei den Oscars, wo er in die engere Auswahl für den Best Foreign Language Film stand.