Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
International Program

Neptune Frost

Anisia Uzeyman, Saul Williams

Thursday Thu 23.06.202223.06.2220:00Kaserne Basel
Saturday Sat 25.06.202225.06.2219:45kult.kino atelier

Anisia Uzeyman, Saul Williams

Rwanda, USA 2021. 105 Min.
Color. Kinyarwanda, Kirundi, Swahili, French, English/ EN

In presence of actrice Cheryl Isheja (Neptune)

 

Against the backdrop of a national civil war in Rwanda, two kindred spirits meet through technology and dreams on their flight from violence: Matalusa, an escapee from the exploitative coltan-mining colony that claimed his brother’s life, and Neptune, an intersex hacker seeking shelter in her parental home. Together, the two runaways find refuge from the encroaching authorities in a hacking collective bent on freeing the world from the shackles of corporate consciousness enslavement. Joining their battle, good versus evil slips between reality and dream within a post-colonial, post-digital landscape ruled by myth and poetry.

 

Spoken in a mixture of Swahili, English, French and Kirundi, Neptune Frost is a collective film par excellence, marking the feature debut of poet-musician-artist Saul Williams and actress-screenwriter Anisia Uzeyman. Their collaboration with Rwandan designer Cedric Mizero gives life to an Afrofuturist sci-fi musical, where visual and cerebral hybridity meet cinematic and gender fluidity. Celebratory and reactionary, Neptune Frost reclaims Black and queer identity from capitalism’s exploited margins, delivering a clarion call for the revolution of both mind and (social) body.

(Andrei Tănăsescu)

CREDITS

DirectorAnisia Uzeyman, Saul Williams
ScreenplaySaul Williams
CinematographyAnisia Uzeyman
EditingAnisha Acharya, Dody Dorn
MusicSaul Williams
WithKing Kivumbi, Robert Ninteretse, Eric Ngangare “1Key”, Natacha Muziramakenga, Deogratias Munyakazi, Eliane Umuhire, Rebecca Uwamahoro, Dorcy Rugamba, Cécile Kayirebwa, Trésor Niyongabo, Michael Makembe, Ekaterina Baker, Cheryl Isheja
SoundEugene Safali, Blake Leyh, Skip Lievsay
ProducersStephen Hendel, Ezra Miller, Dave Guenette, Maria Judice
World SalesKino Lorber

Anisia Uzeyman, Saul Williams

Anisia Uzeyman is an actress, playwright and director. Born in Rwanda, she studied drama at the Superior School of Theater in France. Her directorial debut Dreamstates was shot entirely on iPhones and starred Saul Williams, William Nadylam and Beau Sia. The film premiered at the LAFF in 2016. She has also directed numerous music videos. As an actress Anisia has starred in, among others, the award winning film Aujourd'hui-TEY where she met Saul Williams, and the feature film Ayiti Mon Amour by Guetty Felin which premiered at TIFF 2017. Her first book, a poetic treatment of her original screenplay Saolomea, Saolomea will be published by Not a Cult this Fall.

 

Saul Williams is an American poet, musician, and actor. He made his acting debut in Marc Levin’s Slam, which he co-wrote. The film won Sundance's Grand Jury Prize and the Cannes Camera D'Or in 1998. Saul was the first African-American to win Best Actor at the festival. TEY was also awarded The Prize of the City at Venice. In 2014, Saul made his Broadway debut as the lead in Holler If Ya Hear Me, based on the lyrics of Tupac Shakur. Saul has published five books of poetry which have been translated into several languages. As a musician, Saul has released six albums and toured and collaborated with artists including: Kanye West, Nas, Janelle Monae, Nine Inch Nails, Rage Against The Machine, The Roots, Mos Def, Allen Ginsburg, Amiri Baraka, Gil Scott-Heron, TV On The Radio, Blackalicious, and Erykah Badu.

Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Internationales Programm

Neptune Frost

Anisia Uzeyman, Saul Williams

Donnerstag Do 23.06.202223.06.2220:00Kaserne Basel
Samstag Sa 25.06.202225.06.2219:45kult.kino atelier

Anisia Uzeyman, Saul Williams

Ruanda, USA 2021. 105 Min.
Farbe. Kinyarwanda, Kirundi, Suaheli, Französisch, Englisch/ EN

In Anwesenheit der Schauspielerin Cheryl Isheja (Neptune)

 

Vor dem Hintergrund des Bürgerkriegs in Ruanda finden zwei Gleichgesinnte auf ihrer Flucht vor der Gewalt durch Technologie und Träume zueinander: Matalusa, der aus der ausbeuterischen Coltan-Minen-Kolonie entkommen ist, die seinen Bruder das Leben gekostet hat, und Neptune, eine intersexuelle Hackerin, die in ihrem Elternhaus Schutz sucht. Gemeinsam finden die beiden Aussenseiter Zuflucht vor dem autoritären Regime in einem Hackerkollektiv, das die Welt von den Fesseln der Versklavung befreien will. In ihrem Kampf zwischen Gut und Böse gleiten sie zwischen Realität und Traum durch eine postkoloniale, postdigitale Landschaft, die von Mythen und Poesie beherrscht wird. 

 

Mit seiner Mischung aus Suaheli, Englisch, Französisch und Kirundi erweist sich Neptune Frost als kollektiver Film par excellence und stellt das Spielfilmdebüt des Dichters, Musikers und Künstlers Saul Williams und der Schauspielerin und Drehbuchautorin Anisia Uzeyman dar. Ihre Zusammenarbeit mit dem ruandischen Designer Cedric Mizero hat ein afrofuturistisches Sci-Fi-Musical hervorgebracht, in dem visuelle und zerebrale Hybridität auf filmische und geschlechtliche Fluidität trifft. Neptune Frost ist ein feierliches und reaktionäres Werk, das schwarze und queere Identität von den vom Kapitalismus ausgebeuteten Rändern zurückfordert und ein Plädoyer für die Revolution des Geistes und des (sozialen) Körpers hält.

(Andrei Tănăsescu)

CREDITS

RegieAnisia Uzeyman, Saul Williams
BuchSaul Williams
KameraAnisia Uzeyman
SchnittAnisha Acharya, Dody Dorn
MusikSaul Williams
MitKing Kivumbi, Robert Ninteretse, Eric Ngangare “1Key”, Natacha Muziramakenga, Deogratias Munyakazi, Eliane Umuhire, Rebecca Uwamahoro, Dorcy Rugamba, Cécile Kayirebwa, Trésor Niyongabo, Michael Makembe, Ekaterina Baker, Cheryl Isheja
TonEugene Safali, Blake Leyh, Skip Lievsay
Produzent:innenStephen Hendel, Ezra Miller, Dave Guenette, Maria Judice
WeltvertriebKino Lorber

Anisia Uzeyman, Saul Williams

Anisia Uzeyman ist Schauspielerin, Dramatikerin und Regisseurin. Sie wurde in Ruanda geboren und studierte Schauspiel an der Hochschule für Theater in Frankreich. Ihr Regiedebüt Dreamstates wurde vollständig mit iPhones gedreht und mit Saul Williams, William Nadylam und Beau Sia in den Hauptrollen. Der Film wurde 2016 auf dem LAFF uraufgeführt. Sie hat auch bei zahlreichen Musikvideos Regie geführt. Als Schauspielerin hat Anisia unter anderem in dem preisgekrönten Film Aujourd'hui-TEY mitgespielt, in dem sie Saul Williams kennenlernte, sowie in dem Spielfilm Ayiti Mon Amour von Guetty Felin, der beim TIFF 2017 Premiere hatte. Ihr erstes Buch, eine poetische Verarbeitung ihres Original-Drehbuchs Saolomea, Saolomea wird diesen Herbst bei Not a Cult erscheinen.

 

Saul Williams ist ein amerikanischer Dichter, Musiker und Schauspieler. Sein Schauspieldebüt gab er in dem Film Slam von Marc Levin, an dem er mitschrieb. Der Film gewann 1998 den Großen Preis der Jury in Sundance und die Camera D'Or in Cannes. Saul war der erste Afroamerikaner, der auf dem Festival als bester Schauspieler ausgezeichnet wurde. TEY wurde außerdem in Venedig mit dem Preis der Stadt ausgezeichnet. 2014 gab Saul sein Broadway-Debüt als Hauptdarsteller in Holler If Ya Hear Me, basierend auf den Texten von Tupac Shakur. Saul hat fünf Gedichtbände veröffentlicht, die in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt wurden. Als Musiker hat Saul sechs Alben veröffentlicht und ist auf Tournee gegangen und hat mit Künstlern zusammengearbeitet, darunter: Kanye West, Nas, Janelle Monae, Nine Inch Nails, Rage Against The Machine, The Roots, Mos Def, Allen Ginsburg, Amiri Baraka, Gil Scott-Heron, TV On The Radio, Blackalicious und Erykah Badu.