Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
International Program

Mutzenbacher

Ruth Beckermann

Thursday Thu 23.06.202223.06.2218:15Stadtkino Basel
Saturday Sat 25.06.202225.06.2221:00Stadtkino Basel

Ruth Beckermann

Austria 2022. 100 Min.
Color. German/ EN

In presence of the director

 

Intro Essay – Twisted Tales: Power and Performance in Mutzenbacher and Rewing & Play by Jesse Cumming

 

Several men flock to filmmaker Ruth Beckermann’s broadcasting call for men between the ages of 16 and 99 who are willing to dive into the cinematographic adaptation of the controversial Austrian erotic novel Josefine Mutzenbacher or The Story of a Viennese Whore, as Told by Herself. The book was published anonymously at the beginning of the 20th century and banned until recently and for some time was curiously believed to have been written by Felix Salten, author of Bambi.

These men read out loud, sing, act (some more unabashedly than others) passages of explicit sexual content, often voicing the female character, while the director incisively throws in questions about the feelings and memories that these texts elicit in them. Some auditions are individual, others in a group, but most in pairs, and the outcome of these interactions brings forth another layer of meaning to the film. Surprisingly enough, the device allows most subjects to be open, frank and apparently comfortable about disclosing facts about intimacy, sexual fantasies, taboos, or toxic masculinity. It is also interesting to observe when such vulnerability is uneasy.

An unexpected turn in Ruth Beckermann’s body of work, which is usually connected with a more openly political exploration, this a thought-provoking, spirited deconstruction of the notions of masculinity.

(Susana S. Rodrigues)

CREDITS

DirectorRuth Beckermann
ScreenplayRuth Beckermann, Claus Philipp
CinematographyJohannes Hammel
EditingDieter Pichler
SoundAndreas Hamza
Production CompanyRuth Beckermann Filmproduktion
World SalesRuth Beckermann

Ruth Beckermann

Ruth Beckermann is a filmmaker and author based in Vienna. Her films include The Paper Bridge, East of War and American Passages. In 2014 her film Those Who Go Those Who Stay received the big documentary film prize at the Diagonale in Graz. Two years later The Dreamed Ones was also honored there as best feature film. The Waldheim Waltz received several awards, including the Glashütte Original – Documentary Award for best documentary film at the Berlinale 2018, as well as an Oscar nomination. In 2019 Ruth Beckermann created the installation Joyful Joyce for the Salzburg Festival.

Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Internationales Programm

Mutzenbacher

Ruth Beckermann

Donnerstag Do 23.06.202223.06.2218:15Stadtkino Basel
Samstag Sa 25.06.202225.06.2221:00Stadtkino Basel

Ruth Beckermann

Österreich 2022. 100 Min.
Farbe. Deutsch/ EN

In Anwesenheit der Regisseurin

 

Intro Essay – Twisted Tales: Power and Performance in Mutzenbacher and Rewing & Play by Jesse Cumming

 

Mehrere Männer melden sich auf den breit angelegten Casting-Aufruf der Filmemacherin Ruth Beckermann, die Männer zwischen 16 und 99 Jahren für die Verfilmung des umstrittenen österreichischen Erotikromans Josefine Mutzenbacher oder Die Geschichte einer Wienerischen Dirne sucht, der Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts anonym veröffentlicht wurde, bis vor kurzem noch auf der Liste der jugendgefährdenden Schriften stand und von dem man lange Zeit glaubte, er stamme von Felix Salten, dem Autor von Bambi.

Diese Männer lesen laut vor, singen, spielen (manche ungenierter als andere) Passagen mit explizitem sexuellem Inhalt, wobei sie oft die weibliche Figur verkörpern, während die Regisseurin eindringlich Fragen über die Gefühle und Erinnerungen stellt, die diese Texte in ihnen hervorrufen. Einige Vorsprechen finden einzeln statt, andere in Gruppen, die Mehrzahl jedoch in Paaren, und das Ergebnis dieser Interaktionen bringt eine weitere Bedeutungsebene des Films hervor. Überraschenderweise erlaubt es diese Methode den meisten Teilnehmern, offen und freimütig über Intimität, sexuelle Fantasien, Tabus oder toxische Männlichkeit zu reden. Es ist auch interessant zu beobachten, wann sich diese Offenheit und Vulnerabilität als unangenehm erweist.

Diese nachdenklich stimmende Dekonstruktion des Begriffs der Männlichkeit stellt eine unerwartete Wende in Ruth Beckermanns Werk dar, das normalerweise mit einer offeneren politischen Auseinandersetzung in Verbindung gebracht wird.

(Susana S. Rodrigues)

CREDITS

RegieRuth Beckermann
BuchRuth Beckermann, Claus Philipp
KameraJohannes Hammel
SchnittDieter Pichler
TonAndreas Hamza
ProduktionRuth Beckermann Filmproduktion
WeltvertriebRuth Beckermann

Ruth Beckermann

Ruth Beckermann lebt als Filmschaffende und Autorin in Wien. Zu ihren Filmen zählen Die papierene Brücke, Jenseits des Krieges und American Passages. Ihr Film Those who go Those who stay erhielt 2014 den großen Dokumentarfilmpreis auf der Diagonale in Graz. Zwei Jahre später wurden auch Die Geträumten ebendort als bester Spielfilm ausgezeichnet. Waldheims Walzer erhielt mehrere Preise, u.a. den Glashütte Preis für den besten Dokumentarfilm auf der Berlinale 2018, sowie eine Nominierung für die Oscars. 2019 realisierte Ruth Beckermann die Installation Joyful Joyce für die Salzburger Festspiele.