Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
International Program

Magnetic Fields

Yorgos Goussis

Friday Fri 24.06.202224.06.2216:00kult.kino atelier
Saturday Sat 25.06.202225.06.2217:45kult.kino atelier

Yorgos Goussis

Greece 2021. 78 Min.
Color. Greek/ EN

In presence of Dimitris Polyzos

 

World premiere: Thessaloniki International Film Festival 2021, Swiss premiere

 

Oftentimes, the most beautiful and authentic stories are those that are told with narrative and formal modesty. In the case of Magnetic Fields, there’s nothing simpler than its proposed “drama”: woman meets man and set off together on a journey. Eleni, a slender professional dancer seeking to rehabilitate her career and distance herself from a stifling family life, gives a ride to a “man with a child in his eyes,” the lumbering, thick-bearded Antonis who is looking to bury a box containing the ashes of his aunt. Compelled by a mutual magnetism for one another, they snake their way through the rocky terrains of Greece’s Kefalonia island on a road-trip odyssey of (self-)discovery.

 

Working on a shoestring budget and semi-improvised script, Yorgos Goussis’ feature debut is a rare example of “cinematic craft,” where his background in graphic novels reveals a unique vision of narrative control. Opting to shoot on MiniDV endows the film with a rich color spectrum of washed-out contrasts, where granular pixels of visual intimacy are superseded by a loving intimacy of sound that keeps us close to their unravelling bond.

 

Full of genuine charm, humor and painterly expression, Magnetic Fields is a melancholic ode to human connection and proof that if one should impulsively wander off the beaten path, life will reveal itself in all its “creativity.”

(Andrei Tănăsescu)

CREDITS

DirectorYorgos Goussis
ScreenplayYorgos Goussis, Elena Topalidou, Antonis Tsiotsiopoulos
CinematographyYorgos Koutsaliaris
EditingDimitris Polyzos
MusicLefteris Volanis
WithElena Topalidou, Antonis Tsiotsiopoulos
Sound DesignNefeli Pantzou
SoundNefeli Pantzou
ProducersYorgos Goussis, Marinos Sklavounakis, Yorgos Karnavas
Production CompanyminiFILMS, Naked Eye Productions, Heretic
World SalesHeretic
DistributionHeretic, www.heretic.gr

Yorgos Goussis

Yorgis Goussis was born in 1986 in Athens and studied graphic design. He is one of the most well-known Greek comic book artists, with many best-selling graphic novels and awards. In 2019, he made his debut as a director with The Arm Wrestler, a short documentary portrait that won the Greek Film Academy's Best Greek Short Documentary award in 2020. Magnetic Fields is his debut feature film.

Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Internationales Programm

Magnetic Fields

Yorgos Goussis

Freitag Fr 24.06.202224.06.2216:00kult.kino atelier
Samstag Sa 25.06.202225.06.2217:45kult.kino atelier

Yorgos Goussis

Griechenland 2021. 78 Min.
Farbe. Griechisch/ EN

In Anwesenheit von Dimitris Polyzos

 

Weltpremiere: Thessaloniki International Film Festival 2021, Schweizpremiere

 

Oft sind die schönsten und authentischsten Geschichten jene, die mit narrativer und formaler Schlichtheit erzählt werden. Im Fall von Magnetic Fields ist nichts schlichter als das hier suggerierte «Drama»: Eine Frau trifft einen Mann und die beiden begeben sich gemeinsam auf eine Reise. Eleni, eine schlanke Profitänzerin, die ihre Karriere wieder aufnehmen und sich von einem erdrückenden Familienleben distanzieren will, nimmt einen «Mann mit den Augen eines Kindes» in ihrem Auto mit – den schwerfälligen, dickbärtigen Antonis, der eine Kiste mit der Asche seiner Tante vergraben will. Getrieben von einer gegenseitigen Anziehungskraft bahnen sie sich ihren Weg durch das felsige Terrain der griechischen Insel Kefalonia in einer Road-Trip-Odyssee der (Selbst-)Entdeckung. 

 

Das mit einem geringen Budget und einem halb improvisierten Drehbuch realisierte Spielfilmdebüt von Yorgos Goussis ist ein seltenes Beispiel für «filmisches Handwerk», bei dem sich sein Hintergrund im Graphic-Novel-Bereich in einer einzigartigen Vision narrativer Kontrolle offenbart. Die Entscheidung, auf MiniDV zu drehen, verleiht dem Film ein reiches Farbspektrum mit verwaschenen Kontrasten, wobei die körnigen Pixel visueller Intimität von einer liebevollen Intimität des Tons abgelöst werden, die uns nah an die sich entwirrende Beziehung der beiden heranführt. 

 

Magnetic Fields, geprägt von echtem Charme, Humor und malerischem Ausdruck, ist eine melancholische Ode an menschliche Verbundenheit und ein Beweis dafür, dass sich das Leben in all seiner «Kreativität» entfaltet, wenn man impulsiv abseits der ausgetretenen Pfade wandelt.

(Andrei Tănăsescu)

CREDITS

RegieYorgos Goussis
BuchYorgos Goussis, Elena Topalidou, Antonis Tsiotsiopoulos
KameraYorgos Koutsaliaris
SchnittDimitris Polyzos
MusikLefteris Volanis
MitElena Topalidou, Antonis Tsiotsiopoulos
SounddesignNefeli Pantzou
TonNefeli Pantzou
Produzent:innenYorgos Goussis, Marinos Sklavounakis, Yorgos Karnavas
ProduktionminiFILMS, Naked Eye Productions, Heretic
WeltvertriebHeretic
VerleihHeretic, www.heretic.gr

Yorgos Goussis

Yorgos Goussis wurde 1986 in Athen geboren und studierte Grafikdesign. Er ist einer der bekanntesten griechischen Comiczeichner, mit vielen best-selling Graphic Novels und Auszeichnungen. 2019 gab er sein Regiedebüt mit The Arm Wrestler, einem dokumentarischen Kurzporträt, das 2020 von der griechischen Filmakademie als bester griechischer Kurzdokumentarfilm ausgezeichnet wurde. Magnetic Fields ist sein Spielfilmdebüt.