Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Opening and Closing Films

Kapr Code

Lucie Králová

Sunday Sun 26.06.202226.06.2220:00Gare du Nord

Lucie Králová

Czech Republic, Slovakia 2022. 87 Min.
Color. Czech/ EN

With live-audio description and voice over of the dialogues in German

 

In presence of the director and editor Adam Brothánek

 

Jan Kapr is considered a central figure of musical modernism at the time of the Cold War. The fate of the Czech composer is thus closely linked to the history of socialism. While the progressive artist was awarded the Stalin Prize as late as 1951, his uncompromising work soon fell out of favor. The music was banned and henceforth played only abroad. 

 

Kapr Code is a biographical opera. Lucie Králová’s approach to Jan Kapr’s eventful, contradictory life follows a libretto based on the artist’s personal, previously unpublished archive. From music and photographs, tapes, letters, notes, and amateur films, from fragments of police reports, political writings and love letters, a piece for 17 opera singers is created. In this completely documentary staging, the creation is revealed as a political act. The director deliberately leaves the gaps in Kapr’s biography open by strictly using only Kapr’s estate. The original cinematic staging allows traces to be glimpsed of who else Kapr might have been. 

(Ursula Pfander)

CREDITS

DirectorLucie Králová
ScreenplayLucie Králová
CinematographyTomáš Stanek, Adam Ol’ha, Petr Příkaský, Jakub Halousek, Martin Řezníček
EditingAdam Brothánek
MusicPetra Šuško
Sound DesignRichard Müller
ProducersAndrea Shaffer, Martin Řezníček
World SalesLightdox

Lucie Králová

MgA. Lucie Kralova, Ph.D. is acclaimed Czech film director, scriptwriter and lecturer at FAMU Prague. Her docs, often produced on 16mm film, were screened at many international film festivals and received number of awards, e.g. The Ill-Fated Child (2003) and Sold (2005) were both awarded as Best Czech Documentary at Jihlava IDFF; documentary detective story, Lost Holiday (2007), distributed internationally on 35mm, received the Crystal Globe for Best Feature Doc at Karlovy Vary IFF and other prizes; Lucie also woks as dramaturgist on significant documentaries, e.g. Caught in the Ne (2020) by Klusák/Chalupová (the most successful Czech doc in cinemas ever) or Athanor: The Alchemical Furnace (2020) screened e.g. at IFF Rotterdam 2020. Recently, she has finished new documentary opera Kapr Code which was during development awarded for Best Project at Avant Premiére/Sunny Side of the Docs Pitch in Berlin 2020 and selected as WIP for Cinema du Réel Paris Doc Work in Progress 2021.

Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Eröffnungs- und Abschlussfilme

Kapr Code

Lucie Králová

Sonntag So 26.06.202226.06.2220:00Gare du Nord

Lucie Králová

Tschechische Republik, Slowakei 2022. 87 Min.
Farbe. Tschechisch/ EN

Mit Live-Audiodeskription und Voice Over der Dialoge in deutscher Sprache

 

In Anwesenheit der Regisseurin und des Cutters Adam Brothánek

 

Jan Kapr gilt als zentrale Figur der musikalischen Moderne zu Zeiten des kalten Krieges. Das Schicksal des tschechischen Komponisten ist somit eng mit der Geschichte des Sozialismus verknüpft. Wurde der progressive Künstler noch 1951 mit dem Stalin-Preis ausgezeichnet, fiel seine kompromisslose Arbeit bald in Ungnade. Die Musik wurde verboten und fortan nur noch im Ausland gespielt. 

 

Kapr Code ist eine biographische Oper. Lucie Královás Annäherung an Jan Kaprs bewegtes, widersprüchliches Leben folgt einem Libretto, das auf dem persönlichen, bisher unveröffentlichten Archiv des Künstlers basiert. Aus Musik und Fotos, Tonbändern, Briefen, Notizen und Amateurfilmen, aus Fragmenten von Polizeiberichten, politischen Schriften und Liebesbriefen entsteht ein Stück für 17 Opernsängerinnen und -sänger. In dieser vollkommenen dokumentarischen Inszenierung zeigt sich die Kreation als politischer Akt. Die Regisseurin lässt die Lücken in Kapr`s Biografie bewusst offen, indem sie strikt nur Kapr`s Nachlass verwendet. Durch die originelle filmische Inszenierung lassen sich Spuren erahnen, wer Kapr noch gewesen sein könnte. 

(Ursula Pfander)

CREDITS

RegieLucie Králová
BuchLucie Králová
KameraTomáš Stanek, Adam Ol’ha, Petr Příkaský, Jakub Halousek, Martin Řezníček
SchnittAdam Brothánek
MusikPetra Šuško
SounddesignRichard Müller
Produzent:innenAndrea Shaffer, Martin Řezníček
WeltvertriebLightdox

Lucie Králová

MgA. Lucie Kralova, Ph.D., ist eine anerkannte tschechische Filmregisseurin, Drehbuchautorin und Dozentin an der FAMU Prag. Ihre oft auf 16-mm-Film gedrehten Dokumentarfilme wurden auf vielen internationalen Filmfestivals gezeigt und mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet, wie z.B. The Ill-Fated Child (2003) und Sold (2005), die beide als bester tschechischer Dokumentarfilm auf dem IDFF in Jihlava prämiert wurden; der Dokumentarfilm Lost Holiday (2007), der international auf 35-mm-Film vertrieben wurde, erhielt den Crystal Globe für den besten Dokumentarfilm auf dem Karlovy Vary IFF und weitere Preise; Lucie Kralova arbeitet auch als Dramaturgin an bedeutenden Dokumentarfilmen, wie Caught in the Net (2020) von Klusák/Chalupová (der erfolgreichste tschechische Dokumentarfilm aller Zeiten) oder Athanor: The Alchemical Furnace (2020), der z. B. beim IFF Rotterdam 2020 gezeigt wurde. Kürzlich hat sie ihre neue Dokumentarfilmoper Kapr Code fertiggestellt, die während der Entwicklung als bestes Projekt beim Avant Premièrere/Sunny Side of the Docs Pitch in Berlin 2020 ausgezeichnet und als WIP für Cinema du Réel Paris Doc Work in Progress 2021 ausgewählt wurde.