Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Focus: Wound/Wonder

GENTLE

Anna Eszter Nemes, László Csuja

Thursday Thu 23.06.202223.06.2220:45Stadtkino Basel

Anna Eszter Nemes, László Csuja

Hungary, Germany 2021. 93 Min.
Color. Hungarian/ EN

In presence of the two directors

 

Bodybuilder Edina qualifies for the world championship, for which she trains with her trainer and life partner Adam. She lacks the financial means for performance-enhancing drugs, which she wants to continue taking despite a doctor’s warning. When Edina decides to work for an escort service, she not only gets money but also a kind of attention she has never known before. The rift between the couple widens when Edina falls in love with one of her clients.

 

Edina’s body radiates extreme strength. Inside lives a tender, sensitive person who longs for attention. Adam sees in Edina’s body the fulfillment of his own desires. Both are alone in their worlds, in their bodies. Like the Frankenstein monster, Edina experiences her vitality for the first time through feelings of love. But they do not redeem her from the dependencies that rule her life. The director, Anna Nemes, has been dealing with dissonances of body perceptions in her paintings for many years. Her expressive works provide insight into her world of perception. Varfok Gallery (Hungary).

(Susanne Guggenberger)

CREDITS

DirectorAnna Eszter Nemes, László Csuja
ScreenplayAnna Eszter Nemes, László Csuja
CinematographyZágon Nagy
EditingAttila Csabai
WithEszter Csonka, György Turós, Csaba Krisztik
Sound DesignGábor Császár
SoundGábor Császár
ProducersAndrás Muhi, Gábor Ferenczy
Production CompanyFocusfox Kft
World SalesFILMS BOUTIQUE

Other Talks and events on Focus: Wound/Wonder

Anna Eszter Nemes

Born in 1989, Anna Nemes graduated from the Hungarian University of Fine Arts as a painter in 2014. She post-graduated as an art therapist from the University of Pécs in 2016. Presently, she is a doctoral researcher at the Hungarian University of Fine Arts. Her paintings have been exhibited in solo and group exhibitions across Europe since 2010. Beauty of the Beast, Nemes’ essay-documentary about female bodybuilding will be released in 2022. Her first fiction film Gentle is going to premiere at Sundance Film Festival, 2022.

László Csuja

Director László Csuja (1984) graduated from the Academy of Film and Drama of Budapest in 2012. He teaches since from 2015. His first feature length documentary titled Nine Months War (2018) was about the Ukrainian-Russian military conflict, premiered in Sarajevo IFF and won the Special Jury Prize. His first feature, Blossom Valley premiered in Karlovy Vary IFF and won the Jury Prize and then participated several film festivals. Gentle is his second feature.

Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Fokus: WUNDER

GENTLE

Anna Eszter Nemes, László Csuja

Donnerstag Do 23.06.202223.06.2220:45Stadtkino Basel

Anna Eszter Nemes, László Csuja

Ungarn, Deutschland 2021. 93 Min.
Farbe. Ungarisch/ EN

In Anwesenheit der beiden Regisseur:innen

 

Die Bodybuilderin Edina qualifiziert sich für die Weltmeisterschaft, für die sie mit ihrem Trainer und Lebenspartner Adam trainiert. Ihr fehlen die finanziellen Mittel für leistungssteigernde Drogen, die sie trotz ärztlicher Warnung weiter nehmen will. Als Edina beschliesst in einem Escort-Service zu arbeiten, bekommt sie neben Geld auch eine Art von Zuwendung, die sie bisher nicht kannte. Die Kluft zwischen dem Paar vergrössert sich als sich Edina in einen ihrer Kunden verliebt. 

 

Edina`s Körper strahlt extreme Stärke aus. Im Inneren lebt eine zarte, empfindsame Person, die sich nach Zuwendung sehnt. Adam sieht in Edina`s Körper die Erfülllung seiner eigenen Wünsche. Beide sind alleine in ihrer Welt, in ihren Körpern. Wie das Frankenstein-Monster erfährt Edina durch Liebesgefühle zum ersten Mal ihre Lebendigkeit. Doch erlösen sie diese nicht von den Abhängigkeiten, die ihr Leben bestimmen. Die Regisseurin Anna Nemes setzt sich seit vielen Jahren in ihrer Malerei mit Dissonanzen von Körperwahrnehmungen auseinander. Ihre ausdrucksstarken Malereien geben Einblick in ihre Wahrnehmungswelt. Galerie Varfok (Ungarn).

(Susanne Guggenberger)

CREDITS

RegieAnna Eszter Nemes, László Csuja
BuchAnna Eszter Nemes, László Csuja
KameraZágon Nagy
SchnittAttila Csabai
MitEszter Csonka, György Turós, Csaba Krisztik
SounddesignGábor Császár
TonGábor Császár
Produzent:innenAndrás Muhi, Gábor Ferenczy
ProduktionFocusfox Kft
WeltvertriebFILMS BOUTIQUE

Weitere Talks und Events zu Fokus: WUNDER

Anna Eszter Nemes

Anna Nemes, geboren 1989, schloss 2014 ihr Studium als Malerin an der Ungarischen Universität of Fine Arts ab. Im Jahr 2016 absolvierte sie anschliessend eine Ausbildung als Kunsttherapeutin an der Universität Pécs. Derzeit arbeitet sie als Doktorandin an der Ungarischen Universität of Fine Arts. Ihre Gemälde wurden seit 2010 in Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen in ganz Europa ausgestellt. Beauty of the Beast, Nemes' Essay-Dokumentarfilm über weibliches Bodybuilding, wird 2022 in die Kinos kommen. Ihr erster Spielfilm Gentle wird 2022 auf dem Sundance Film Festival uraufgeführt.

László Csuja

Der Regisseur László Csuja (1984) ist Absolvent an der Akademie für Film und Theater in Budapest im Jahr 2012. Er unterrichtet seit 2015. Sein erster langer Dokumentarfilm mit dem Titel Nine Months War (2018) handelte vom den ukrainisch-russischen Militärkonflikt, wurde in Sarajevo IFF uraufgeführt und gewann den Spezialpreis der Jury. Sein erster Spielfilm, Blossom Valley hatte seine Premiere beim Karlovy Vary IFF und gewann den Preis der Jury und nahm anschließend an mehreren Filmfestivals teil. Gentle ist sein zweiter Spielfilm.