Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
International Program

El Gran Movimiento

The Great Movement

Kiro Russo

Friday Fri 24.06.202224.06.2220:45kult.kino atelier
Sunday Sun 26.06.202226.06.2215:45Stadtkino Basel

Kiro Russo

Bolivia, France, Qatar, Switzerland 2021. 85 Min.
Color. Spanish/ EN

In presence of the director

 

After a long walk of several days, Elder, who some may recognize from the director’s debut feature Viejo Calavera, arrives in the capital of Bolivia with his colleagues from a mine to protest against the loss of their jobs. They decide to stay and try their luck in La Paz. The massive city is a daunting character in itself, and, unexpectedly, Elder starts feeling sick, out of breath, without strength … 

El Gran Movimiento brings forth a timely reflection on progress, economic oppression, precarity, work, and the neoliberal capitalist paradigm. It is a unique sensorial approach to the topics, blending a variety of genres and layers, shot on 16 mm, and reinvents the early 20th century urban symphony genre that tackled the industrialization era.

An inspired reinterpretation that combines ethnography, cinéma vérité, choreography, magical realism, documentary and experimental form to capture the changing urban landscape of La Paz – a city in “metamorphosis” – through the experienced lives of those who live on its margins and are rarely given a starring role despite being the backbone to the great movement.

(Susana Santos Rodrigues)

CREDITS

DirectorKiro Russo
CinematographyPablo Paniagua
EditingKiro Russo, Pablo Paniagua, Felipe Gálvez
WithJulio César Ticona, Max Bautista Uchasara, Francisca Arce de Aro, Israel Hurtado, Gustavo Milán Ticona
SoundMauricio Quiroga, Mercedes Tennina, Juan Pedro Razzari, Emmanuel Croset
ProducersKiro Russo, Pablo Paniagua, Alexa Rivero
World SalesBest Friend Forever

Kiro Russo

Director, producer and scriptwriter Kiro Russo was born in La Paz, Bolivia, in 1984. He studied direction at the University of Cinema in Buenos Aires. As a director and scriptwriter, he made the short films Enterprisse (2010), Juku (2012), and New Life (2015), premièring at the 68th Locarno Film Festival, received a special mention from the jury and won first prize and the Orona Award in the EIECINE category at San Sebastian Film Festival.

Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Internationales Programm

El Gran Movimiento

The Great Movement

Kiro Russo

Freitag Fr 24.06.202224.06.2220:45kult.kino atelier
Sonntag So 26.06.202226.06.2215:45Stadtkino Basel

Kiro Russo

Bolivien, Frankreich, Katar, Schweiz 2021. 85 Min.
Farbe. Spanisch/ EN

In Anwesenheit der Regie

 

Nach einem mehrtägigen Fußmarsch kommen der Minenarbeiter Elder, den einige vielleicht aus dem Debütfilm des Regisseurs – Viejo Calavera – kennen, und seine Kollegen in der bolivianischen Hauptstadt an, um gegen den Verlust ihrer Arbeitsplätze zu protestieren. Sie beschließen zu bleiben und ihr Glück in La Paz zu versuchen. Die riesige Stadt allein stellt schon eine gewaltige Herausforderung dar, und unerwartet beginnt Elder sich krank zu fühlen, außer Atem, ohne Kraft ...

 

El Gran Movimiento ist eine zeitgemäße Reflexion über Fortschritt, wirtschaftliche Unterdrückung, Prekarität, Arbeit und das neoliberale kapitalistische Paradigma. In einer ganz eigenen sensorischen Herangehensweise an diese Themen verknüpft der auf 16mm gedrehte Film eine Vielzahl von Gattungen und Ebenen und erfindet das Genre der Stadt- Symphonien des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts, das sich mit der Industrialisierung auseinandersetzt, neu. 

 

Eine inspirierte Neuinterpretation, die Ethnografie, Cinéma vérité, Choreografie, magischen Realismus, Dokumentarfilm und experimentelle Form miteinander verbindet, um die sich verändernde urbane Landschaft von La Paz, einer Stadt in «Metamorphose», durch die Lebenserfahrungen jener einzufangen, die an ihren Rändern leben und denen nur selten eine Hauptrolle zukommt, obwohl sie das Rückgrat der großen Bewegung bilden.

(Susana S. Rodrigues)

CREDITS

RegieKiro Russo
KameraPablo Paniagua
SchnittKiro Russo, Pablo Paniagua, Felipe Gálvez
MitJulio César Ticona, Max Bautista Uchasara, Francisca Arce de Aro, Israel Hurtado, Gustavo Milán Ticona
TonMauricio Quiroga, Mercedes Tennina, Juan Pedro Razzari, Emmanuel Croset
Produzent:innenKiro Russo, Pablo Paniagua, Alexa Rivero
WeltvertriebBest Friend Forever

Kiro Russo

Der Regisseur, Produzent und Drehbuchautor Kiro Russo wurde 1984 in La Paz, Bolivien, geboren. Er studierte Regie an der Universität für Kino in Buenos Aires. Als Regisseur und Drehbuchautor drehte er die Kurzfilme Enterprisse (2010), Juku (2012) und New Life (2015), die auf dem 68. Filmfestival von Locarno uraufgeführt wurden, von der Jury eine besondere Erwähnung erhielten und auf dem Filmfestival von San Sebastian den ersten Preis und den Orona Award in der Kategorie EIECINE gewannen.