Jury of the International Competition – Cutting Edge

Barbara Albert

 

Barbara Albert (born 1970 in Vienna, Austria) initially studied theatre studies, German and journalism, before enrolling at the Filmakademie in Vienna in 1991 to become a director and screenwriter. Her feature film debut Northern Skirts won the award for best actress (Nina Proll) at the Venice Film Festival in 1999 and brought Austrian cinema into the international limelight. The same year, Albert joined forces with Jessica Hausner, Martin Gschlacht and Antonin Svoboda to create the production company coop99. Further internationally successful feature films followed, such as Free Radicals (2003) and Falling (2006). Albert's films stand for a mix of " the experienced, the narrated and the invented", and she values the power of claims and cites the fear of " where we don't want to look" as her driving force. In 2009, Albert founded the Austrian Film Academy with other Austrian filmmakers. In 2012, she received the Austrian Art Prize for Film. Since 2013, she has been a professor at the Film University Babelsberg. Her most recent feature Licht (based on the novel Mesmerized by Alissa Walser) premiered at the Toronto Film Festival in 2017. It was nominated in 14 categories and won in 5 of them at the Austrian Film Awards in 2018.

LISABI FRIDELL

 

Lisabi Fridell (born 1985 in Delsbo, Sweden) is a cinematographer based in Berlin who works all over the world. During her professional career she has been acknowledged for her photography in both feature films and documentaries. Her work is rather unconventional, and if anything defines her style it is versatility, always based on telling the story in a unique fashion. She is not afraid to explore and experiment with different techniques, colours and shapes with the intention of innovating and, if possible, enhancing the story. She prefers to work closely with the directors and to influence the whole process from an early stage. The films she has worked on are characterised by their transgressive spirit and by their defence of feminist values. This approach is visible in films such as Nånting måste gå sönder (Something Must Break, 2014) by Ester Bergsmark – which Bildrausch showed in its 2014 edition – in 6a by Peter Modestij (2016), Stupid Young Heart by Selma Vilhunen (2018) or Levan Akin’s And Then We Danced, which premiered at the Quinzaine des Réalisateurs in Cannes and has since won over 20 prizes. Lisabi Fridell has also repeatedly collaborated with the director Lovisa Sirén and the producer Siri Hjorton Wagner with whom she has worked on Pussy Have the Power (2014), Audition (2015) and Baby (2016). Her next feature film, coming up in 2022, is Lovisa Sirén's feature film debut Sagres, a roadmovie from Sweden to Portugal.

NEIL YOUNG

 

Neil Young (born 1971 in Easington, UK) is a freelance writer, curator and filmmaker. He writes regularly for Screen, Sight and Sound and Modern Times Review. He contributed hundreds of reviews to The Hollywood Reporter between 2008 and 2020. From 2011 to 2015, Young was Director of the Bradford International Film Festival. Today, he works for Viennale as a consultant and programmer, and for Vienna Shorts, where he heads the national competition programme. His festival calendar also includes the European Film Festival Palic (Serbia, as International Programmer) and the Kortfilmfestivalen shorts festival (Grimstad, Norway). A member of FIPRESCI and the London Critics' Circle, he routinely attends 25+ film-festivals each year and has served on more than two dozen juries since 2001, including Cannes' Semaine de la Critique (2013) and others at Venice, Berlin, Locarno, Rotterdam and Mexico City. His films as writer/director include the shorts Vilniu Detroit (2017), Towing Dispatch (2018), Fictional Breweries (2020) and The Rising Sun (2021). His video collage Rihaction premiered at the Diagonale in Graz in 2019. In the same year he made his big-screen acting debut in Joanna Hogg's Sundance-winning feature The Souvenir, which Bildrausch presented in the international competition in 2019.

Jury des Internationalen Wettbewerbs – Cutting Edge

Barbara Albert

 

BARBARA ALBERT (*1970, Wien, AT) studierte zunächst Theaterwissenschaft, Germanistik und Publizistik und ab 1991 Regie und Drehbuch an der Filmakademie in Wien. Ihr Langspielfilm-Debüt Nordrand wurde 1999 am Filmfestival Venedig mit dem Preis für die beste Darstellerin (Nina Proll) geehrt und hob das österreichische Filmschaffen ins internationale Rampenlicht. Im selben Jahr gründete Albert mit Jessica Hausner, Martin Gschlacht und Antonin Svoboda die Filmproduktionsfirma coop99. Es folgten weitere international erfolgreiche Spielfilme wie Böse Zellen (2003) und Fallen (2006). Alberts Filme stehen für einen Mix aus «Erfahrenem, Erzähltem und Erfundenem», wobei sie die Kraft der Behauptung schätzt und als Antrieb die Angst vor jenem nennt, «wohin wir nicht schauen wollen». 2009 gründete Albert zusammen mit weiteren österreichischen Filmschaffenden die Akademie des Österreichischen Films. 2012 erhielt sie den Österreichischen Kunstpreis für Film. Seit 2013 ist sie als Professorin an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg tätig. Ihr jüngster Spielfilm Licht (nach dem Roman «Am Anfang war die Nacht Musik» von Alissa Walser) feierte 2017 am Toronto International Film Festival Premiere; er wurde im Rahmen des Österreichischen Filmpreises 2018 in 14 Kategorien nominiert und in fünf Kategorien ausgezeichnet.

Lisabi Fridell

 

LISABI FRIDELL (*1985, Delsbo, SE) ist eine in Berlin ansässige, international tätige Kamerafrau, die sich auf den Sets von Spiel- und Dokumentarfilmen gleichermassen einen Namen gemacht hat. Ihr Stil ist so unkonventionell wie vielfältig und immer darauf ausgerichtet, eine Geschichte auf einzigartige Weise zu erzählen. Lisabi Fridell scheut sich nicht, mit verschiedene Techniken, Farben und Formen zu experimentieren; indem sie sich innovativ einbringt, möchte sie die Narration weitertreiben. So arbeitet sie denn auch eng mit ihren Regisseur:innen zusammen und schätzt es, am Schaffensprozess möglichst früh teilzuhaben. Ihre künstlerische Haltung ist geprägt von einem transgressiven Geist und der Verteidigung von feministischen Werten. Dieser Zugriff zeigt sich u.a. im preisgekrönten Spielfilm Something Must Break (2014) von Ester Martin Bergsmark – den Bildrausch 2014 im internationalen Wettbewerb zeigte – in 6A von Peter Modestij (2016), in Stupid Young Heart von Selma Vilhunen (2018) oder in Levan Akins And Then We Danced, der an der Quinzaine des Réalisateurs des Filmfestivals Cannes uraufgeführt und seither mit über 20 Preisen bedacht wurde. Lisabi Fridell hat zudem wiederholt mit der Regisseurin Lovisa Sirén und der Produzentin Siri Hjorton Wagner zusammengearbeitet, u.a. für die Kurzfilme Pussy Have the Power (2014), Audition (2015) und Baby (2016). Bei ihrem nächsten Langfilm handelt es sich um Lovisa Siréns Langfilmdebüt Sagres, ein Roadmovie von Schweden nach Portugal. Der Film wird 2022 starten. 

Neil Young

 

NEIL YOUNG (*1971, Easington, UK) ist als Autor, Kurator und Filmemacher tätig. Er schreibt regelmässig für Fachzeitschriften wie Screen, Sight and Sound und Modern Times Review. Für The Hollywood Reporter hat er in den Jahren 2008 bis 2020 mehrere Hundert Filmkritiken verfasst. Von 2011 bis 2015 leitete der gebürtige Brite das Bradford International Film Festival. Heute engagiert er sich in Wien als Berater und Programmer für die Viennale und für die Vienna Shorts, wo er den nationalen Wettbewerb leitet. Sein Festivalkalender umfasst weiter das Europäische Filmfestival Palić in Serbien, wo er sich als Programmer einbringt und das Kortfilmfestivalen im norwegischen Grimstad. Hinzukommen rund 25 Festivals, die er als Mitglied der FIPRESCI und des London Critics' Circle besucht. Seit 2001 sass er in mehr als zwei Dutzend Jurys, darunter die Semaine de la Critique in Cannes (2013) und weitere in Venedig, Berlin, Locarno, Rotterdam oder Mexiko-City. Zu Neil Youngs Filmographie gehören die Kurzfilme Vilniu Detroit (2017), Towing Dispatch (2018), Fictional Breweries (2020) und The Rising Sun (2021). Sein Video Collage Rihaction wurde 2019 an der Diagonale uraufgeführt. Im selben Jahr gab er sein Schauspieldebüt in Joanna Hoggs Sundance-Gewinner The Souvenir, den Bildrausch 2019 im internationalen Wettbewerb vorstellte.