Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Félix Dufour-Laperrière: Inseln im Strom

Ville Neuve

Félix Dufour-Laperrière

Thursday *Thu *17.06.202117.06.2118:45kult.kino atelier 4

* In the presence of Félix Dufour-Laperrière (via Zoom)

Félix Dufour-Laperrière

Canada 2018. 76 Min.
bw. DCP. F/e

On 30 October 1995 the Québec electorate was asked to vote on the future of their region in a referendum: should the provincial government initiate an independence process with the Canadian state, or not? The result was unexpectedly close: 50.58% voted against, while 49.42% voted for. 15 years earlier, a similar referendum gathered 59.56% " No" votes.

 

Should they stay together or split up? This is a question that Joseph and Emma have already resolved – the former couple have gone their own separate ways. But the referendum lets them take another look at their relationship. It is autumn, the beach is empty and cool, the house on the Gaspésie peninsula is an echo chamber for feelings and memories – a temporary home for an encounter of an unclear duration. Just like the latest film by Dufour-Laperrière, Archipelago, which explores the same landscape, Ville Neuve is at its core a dialogue, in spite of a few supporting characters. Unlike Archipelago, however, the form of Ville Neuve is strongly minimal: a few, clear lines and strong, expressive surfaces define the quasi-monochrome animation. If Joseph and Emma find each other again, will Québec then decide to go its own way in the next referendum? (om)

CREDITS

DirectorFélix Dufour-Laperrière
ScreenplayFélix Dufour-Laperrière
CinematographyFélix Dufour-Laperrière
EditingFélix Dufour-Laperrière
MusicJean L‘Appeau
ProducerGalilé Marion-Gauvin
DistributionUrban Distribution International, Paris, www.urbandistrib.com

Other films of the director shown at the same edition of Bildrausch 2021

Félix Dufour-Laperrière

Félix Dufour-Laperrière (born 1981, Chicoutimi) studied animation film design at Concordia University in Montreal. Before making his first feature-length film Transatlantique (2014), he directed around one dozen shorter works, sometimes in collaboration with other filmmakers. In addition to his films, Dufour-Laperrière has also created installations and an artist's book.

Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Filmbild
Félix Dufour-Laperrière

Ville Neuve

Félix Dufour-Laperrière

Donnerstag *Do *17.06.202117.06.2118:45kult.kino atelier 4TICKETS

Live/Stream vom 17.06.21, 18:45 bis 20.06.21, 18:45

TICKETS

* In Anwesenheit von Félix Dufour-Laperrière (via Zoom)

Félix Dufour-Laperrière

Kanada 2018. 76 Min.
sw. DCP. F/e

Am 30.10.1995 waren die Wahlberechtigten Québecs aufgerufen, sich einem Referendum zur Zukunft ihrer Region zu äussern: Sollte die Regierung der Provinz beim kanadischen Staat ein Unabhängigkeitsverfahren einleiten oder nicht? Das Ergebnis fiel unerwartet knapp aus: 50,58 % stimmten mit Nein, 49,42 % mit Ja; 15 Jahre zuvor stimmten bei einem vergleichbaren Referendum noch 59,56 % mit Nein.

 

Zusammenbleiben oder sich trennen? Diese Frage haben Joseph und Emma schon hinter sich – das einstige Paar geht geschiedene Wege. Das Referendum aber lässt sie noch einmal neu auf ihre Beziehung schauen. Es ist Herbst, der Strand leer und kühl, das Haus auf der Gaspésie-Halbinsel ein Hallraum für ihre Gefühle wie Erinnerungen – ein Heim auf Zeit für eine Begegnung von immer unklarerer Dauer. Ähnlich dem neusten Film von Dufour-Laperrière Archipel, der dieselbe Landschaft erforscht, ist auch Ville Neuve in seinem Kern ein Dialog, einigen Nebenfiguren zum Trotz. Anders als Archipel aber ist Ville Neuve in seiner Gestaltung streng-reduziert: Wenige, klare Linien und kräftig-expressive Flächen definieren die quasi monochrome Animation. Wenn Joseph und Emma sich nun doch wiederfinden – wird Québec sich dann beim nächsten Referendum für einen eigenen Weg entscheiden? (om)

CREDITS

RegieFélix Dufour-Laperrière
BuchFélix Dufour-Laperrière
KameraFélix Dufour-Laperrière
SchnittFélix Dufour-Laperrière
MusikJean L‘Appeau
Produzent:inGalilé Marion-Gauvin
VerleihUrban Distribution International, Paris, www.urbandistrib.com

Weitere Filme des Regisseurs im Rahmen der Bildrauschausgabe 2021

Félix Dufour-Laperrière

Félix Dufour-Laperrière (*1981, Chicoutimi), studierte Animationsfilmgestaltung an der Concordia-Universität in Montreal. Vor seinem ersten Langfilm, Transatlantique (2014), realisierte er rund ein Dutzend kürzere Arbeiten, manchmal in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Filmemachern. Neben seinen Filmen hat Dufour-Laperrière auch Installationen und ein Künstlerbuch realisiert.