Bildrausch Team

NICOLE REINHARD

Co-Director

> Mail

 

Film festivals have always been a cornerstone of Nicole Reinhard's career, be it during her studies in cinema, history and cultural anthropology, her activities for VIPER, the international festival for film, video and new media in Lucerne, or in her efforts to help build and expand the Internationale Kurzfilmtage Winterthur. Since 2005, she has been the director of Stadtkino Basel and of Landkino, and since 2007 of the newly founded cinematheque Le Bon Film. In 2008, Nicole Reinhard won DEFA's Program Award together with Beat Schneider. In 2011, Nicole Reinhard and Beat Schneider launched Bildrausch – Filmfest Basel, which they still manage together today. The same year, Nicole was named Chevalier dans l'ordre des Arts et des Lettres by then French Minister of Culture Frédéric Mitterand. Nicole Reinhard is a regular jury member and a member of the Swiss Film Academy since 2018.

“At Bildrausch, I want to show films that pursue their own visual and narrative paths, films that offer resistance – both poetically and radically. It is important to keep rethinking what a festival should be, with open eyes; to bewitch us with form and content, and to surprise us – in other words: to give both courageous cinema and its audience a sensual and unique opportunity to enjoy a special encounter.”

 

 

BEAT SCHNEIDER

Co-Director

> Mail

 

Already during his studies of sociology, cinema and philosophy, Beat Schneider was involved in building Internationale Kurzfilmtage Winterthur, and he also investigated the hybridisation of the short cinematic form from a theoretical perspective. Starting in 2003, he became involved in Zurich's Kino Xenix, and significantly helped shape the cinema as one of its programme directors and as a member of the management team. In 2005, Schüren Verlag published his anthology "Xenix – Kino als Programm". Starting in 2007, Beat Schneider started to contribute his cinematic vision to the programme of Stadtkino Basel. In 2008, he and Nicole Reinhard won DEFA's Program Award. Beat Schneider has been deputy director of Stadtkino Basel, Landkino and Kinemathek Le Bon Film since 2012. In 2011, he and Nicole Reinhard founded Bildrausch – Filmfest Basel, which they still manage together.

“I want cinema to explore life, both my own and that of others; I want to feel the emotions as well as the social and political entanglements of today's human being. Films should be pure ecstasy, emotion and elixir – and Bildrausch is an inspiring forum and an enchanting festival.”

 

 

SUSANA SANTOS
RODRIGUES

Programme Delegate

The Portuguese-born programmer Susana Santos Rodrigues is the co-founder of the film production and distribution company VAIVEM, and she works as a project consultant and programme delegate for Latin America and Portugal for the film festivals Rotterdam, Cinéma du Réel and Bildrausch – Filmfest Basel. She is also a member of the selection committees of the Rio de Janeiro International Film Festival and the Hubert Bals Fund. She also works as an international consultant for the Doha Film Institute and as an external expert for Creative Europe – Media.

Bernd BreHmer

 

Programme Delegate

Bernd Brehmer is the co-founder, director and curator of UNDERDOX, the International Film Festival for Documents and Experiments in Munich. Since 1995, he has been one of the managers of Munich's Werkstattkino and has defined its internationally renowned film archive with his choice of film acquisitions. In 1991, he founded the film magazine "24", and from 2003 to 2006 he was the head of distribution of "Exit Verleihagentur", which was dedicated to documentary filmmaking as well as German independent productions. Bernd Brehmer has been a member of numerous juries and has curated film programmes for international festivals, including Bildrausch – Filmfest Basel.

Olaf Möller

Programme Delegate

Olaf Möller is a film critic, festival programmer and teaches film history Aalto University in Finland. The Cologne-based author writes regularly for specialist magazines such as "Sight & Sound", "Cinema Scope", "MUBI Notebook", "Eye for Film" and "Film Comment". Olaf Möller has also published books on film theory and history, including works on Dominik Graf, Thomas Heisse and Romuald Karmakar, and about post-war German cinema. He has, among other things, curated film programmes and retrospectives for Viennale, Locarno Film Festival and Bildrausch – Filmfest Basel, and is responsible for the retrospective of the International Film Festival Rotterdam.

Jean Perret

Programme Delegate

Jean Perret worked as a film journalist for various publications as well as for French-speaking Swiss radio. In 1990, he created the Semaine de la critique at the Locarno Film Festival, and headed the indipendent section until 1995. From 1995 to 2010, Perret was the director of the international documentary film festival Visions du Réel in Nyon. In 2010, he was appointed as director of the film department of Haute école d'art et de design (HEAD) in Geneva, which he remained until his retirement in 2018. Today, he works as a moderator at numerous international film festivals, organises courses and seminars and writes for platforms such as www.filmexplorer.ch or magazines such as "La Couleur des Jours". For Bildrausch, Jean Perret curates the Thinking/Space, "a place of generous curiosity, which is shared with everyone".

Ursula Pfander

Communications Officer

Ursula Pfander puts Bildrausch into words and brings the film festival into the newspapers. She also works for the international documentary film festival Visions du Réel in Nyon, Locarno Film Festival, Solothurn Film Festival and is a board member of artlink, a Swiss organisation dedicated to cultural cooperation. Before becoming a freelance copywriter, concept designer and press officer, she was in charge of communications at Fribourg International Film Festival, and was responsible for Swiss film culture at the Swiss Federal Office of Culture. In the book "Rex, Roxy, Royal. Eine Reise durch die Schweizer Kinolandschaft" she portrayed the most beautiful cinemas of the Canton of Berne.

Christine Waelti

Marketing Officer

Christine Waelti worked in corporate communications for companies such as UBS AG or Basel Tourism for more than 20 years, and she most recently graduated with a Master of Advanced Studies in Marketing Management from the University of Basel. Since 2017, she has been managing innovative and strategic projects at the intersection between marketing and PR with her company Waelti Content & PR, has helped anchor the Bildrausch – Filmfest Basel brand even stronger in the city, and has also been active as a co-organiser of Adväntsgass in Glaibasel.

Fabian Frei

Production Manager

The Basel-based art historian and media scholar Fabian Frei works as a freelance artist and curator, among other things for the festival "Guck mal Günther, Kunst". He is also a board member of the Basel art space DOCK. At Bildrausch – Filmfest Basel, he ensures the smooth assembly and dismantling of the festival's physical infrastructure, coordinates the numerous volunteers and solves even the most tricky problems of the festival guests and the team.

Further Team

Backoffice – Anna Weber

Proofreading – Dominik Suess

Translation – Andrew Blackwell

Transport of copies – Annick Meli

Advertisements – Barbara Keller-Bergheimer

Graphic appearance – Ludovic Balland Typography Cabinet

Team catering – Angela Knor

Bar managment – Adeline Sirlin

Chief operater – Johannes Wolfsperger

Bildrausch-Team

NICOLE REINHARD

Ko-Direktorin

> Mail

 

Filmfestivals haben Nicole Reinhard schon immer professionell befeuert, sei dies während des Studiums der Filmwissenschaft, Geschichte und Ethnologie, während ihrer Tätigkeit für die VIPER, dem internationalen Festival für Film, Video und Neue Medien in Luzern oder beim Mitaufbau der Internationalen Kurzfilmtage Winterthur. Seit 2005 ist sie Direktorin des Stadtkino Basel und des Landkino; seit 2007 auch der neu gegründeten Kinemathek Le Bon Film. 2008 wurde Nicole Reinhard gemeinsam mit Beat Schneider mit dem Programmpreis der DEFA geehrt. 2011 hob sie mit Beat Schneider Bildrausch – Filmfest Basel aus der Taufe, das sie noch heute gemeinsam leiten. Im selben Jahr wurde Nicole Reinhard vom damaligen französischen Kulturminister Frédéric Mitterrand zum Chevalier dans l’ordre des Arts et des Lettres ernannt. Nicole Reinhard ist regelmässig in Jurys vertreten und seit 2018 Mitglied der Schweizer Filmakademie.

«Ich will bei Bildrausch Filme zeigen, die eigene visuelle und narrative Wege gehen, Filme die Widerstand leisten – poetisch und radikal. Mit offenen Augen gilt es, das Festival immer wieder neu zu denken, in Form und Inhalt zu betören und zu überraschen – kurz, dem mutigen Kino und seinem Publikum ein so sinnliches wie singuläres Stelldichein zu geben.»

 

 

BEAT SCHNEIDER

Ko-Direktor

> Mail

 

Bereits während dem Studium der Soziologie, Filmwissenschaft und Philosophie war Beat Schneider am Aufbau der Internationalen Kurzfilmtage Winterthur beteiligt und beschäftigte sich auch theoretisch mit der Hybridisierung der kurzen filmischen Form. Ab 2003 engagierte er sich für das Zürcher Kino Xenix, dessen Geschicke er als Co-Programmleiter und als Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung massgeblich mitprägte. 2005 gab er beim Schüren Verlag den Sammelband «Xenix – Kino als Programm» heraus. Ab 2007 brachte Beat Schneider seine filmische Vision vermehrt auch in das Programm des Stadtkinos Basel ein. 2008 wurde er gemeinsam mit Nicole Reinhard mit dem Programmpreis der DEFA geehrt. Seit 2012 ist Beat Schneider stellvertretender Direktor von Stadtkino Basel, Landkino und Kinemathek Le Bon Film. 2011 gründete er mit Nicole Reinhard das Bildrausch – Filmfest Basel, das die beiden heute gemeinsam leiten.

«Ich möchte im Kino das Leben, das eigene und das der anderen erkunden; Gefühle spüren, soziale und politische Verstrickungen des heutigen Individuums erkennen. Filme sollen pure Ekstase, Emotion und Elixier sein – und Bildrausch ein inspirierendes Forum und bezauberndes Fest.»

 

 

SUSANA SANTOS
RODRIGUES

Programmdelegierte

Die portugiesisch-stämmige Programmerin Susana Santos Rodrigues hat die Filmproduktions und -vertriebsfirma VAIVEM mitgegründet, arbeitet im Bereich der Projektberatung und ist Programmdelegierte der Filmfestivals Rotterdam, Cinéma du Réel und Bildrausch – Filmfest Basel für Lateinamerika und Portugal. Sie gehört weiter zu den Auswahlkommissionen des Rio de Janeiro International Film Festival und des Hubert Bals Fund. Als internationale Beraterin ist sie für das Doha Film Institute und als externe Expertin für Creative Europe – Media tätig.

Bernd BreHmer

 

Programmdelegierter

Bernd Brehmer ist Mitbegründer, Leiter und Kurator von UNDERDOX, dem Internationalen Festival für Dokument und Experiment München. Seit 1995 gehört er zu den Betreiber*innen des Münchner Werkstattkinos und prägt dessen international renommiertes Filmarchiv durch seine ausgesuchten Filmanschaffungen. 1991 gründete er die Filmzeitschrift «24», von 2003 bis 2006 war er Verleihchef der «Exit Verleihagentur», die sich dem dokumentarischen Film sowie deutschen Independent-Produktionen widmete. Bernd Brehmer ist in zahlreichen Jurys vertreten und kuratiert Filmprogramme für internationale Festivals, namentlich das Bildrausch – Filmfest Basel.

Olaf Möller

Programmdelegierter

Olaf Möller ist Filmkritiker sowie Programmberater- und -gestalter; zudem unterrichtet er Filmgeschichte an der Aalto Universität (Helsinki). Der Kölner Autor schreibt regelmässig für Fachmagazine wie «Sight & Sound», «Cinema Scope», «MUBI Notebook», oder «Film Comment». Olaf Möller zeichnet für eine Vielzahl an filmhistorischen Publikationen (mit-)verantwortlich, u.a. zum Werk von Dominik Graf, Romuald Karmakar oder zum deutschen Kino der Nachkriegszeit. Zudem hat er Filmreihen und Retrospektiven für u.a. Il cinema ritrovato (Bologna), die Internationalen Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen, das Locarno Film Festival, das Museum Folkwang (Essen) oder die Salzburger Festspiele zusammengestellt; seit 2020 verantwortet er die Programmsektion Cinema Regained des Internationalen Filmfestivals Rotterdam.

Jean Perret

Programmdelegierter

Jean Perret arbeitete als Filmjournalist für verschiedene Publikationen sowie für das Radio der französischsprachigen Schweiz. 1990 rief er die Semaine de la critique ins Leben und stand der  unabhängige Sektion des Locarno Filmfestival bis 1995 vor. Von 1995 bis 2010 war Perret Direktor des internationalen Dokumentarfilmfestivals Visions du Réel in Nyon, 2010 wurde er an die Abteilung Film der Haute école d’art et de design (HEAD) in Genf berufen, der er bis zu seiner Pensionierung 2018 vorstand. Heute ist Jean Perret als Moderator an zahlreichen internationalen Festivals tätig, veranstaltet Kurse und Seminare und schreibt für Plattformen wie www.filmexplorer.ch oder Magazine wie «La Couleur des Jours». Für Bildrausch kuratiert Jean Perret den Gedanken/Raum, «einen Ort der grosszügigen Neugierde, die man zusammen teilt».

Ursula Pfander

Kommunikationsbeauftragte

Ursula Pfander fasst Bildrausch in Worte und bringt das Filmfest in die Zeitung. Ausserdem arbeitet sie für das internationale Dokumentarfilmfestival Visions du Réel in Nyon, das Locarno Film Festival, die Solothurner Filmtage und engagiert sich im Vorstand des Schweizer Büros für Kulturkooperation artlink. Bevor sie sich als Texterin, Konzepterin und Pressesprecherin selbstständig machte, leitete sie die Kommunikation des Internationalen Filmfestivals Freiburg und kümmerte sich beim Bundesamt für Kultur um die Schweizer Filmkultur. Für das Buch «Rex, Roxy, Royal. Eine Reise durch die Schweizer Kinolandschaft» portraitierte sie die schönsten Kinos des Kantons Bern.

Christine Waelti

Marketingbeauftragte

Christine Waelti war während mehr als zwanzig Jahren in der Unternehmenskommunikation von Firmen wie UBS AG oder Basel Tourismus tätig, zuletzt mit einem Master of Advanced Studies in Marketingmanagement der Universität Basel in der Tasche. Seit 2017 leitet sie mit ihrer Firma Waelti Content & PR innovative und strategische Projekte an der Schnittstelle von Marketing und PR, verankert die Marke Bildrausch – Filmfest Basel noch stärker in der Stadt und engagiert sich nebenbei u.a. als Ko-Veranstalterin der Adväntsgass im Glaibasel.

Fabian Frei

Produktionsleiter

Der Basler Kunsthistoriker und Medienwissenschaftler Fabian Frei arbeitet als freischaffender Künstler und Kurator, u.a. für das Festival «Guck mal Günther, Kunst». Zudem engagiert er sich im Vorstand des Basler Kunstraums DOCK. Beim Bildrausch – Filmfest Basel sorgt er für einen reibungslosen Festival-Auf- und Abbau, koordiniert die zahlreichen Helfer*innen und löst für die Festivalgäste und das Team jedes noch so verzwickte Problem.

Weiteres Team

Backoffice – Anna Weber

Korrektorat – Dominik Suess

Übersetzung – Andrew Blackwell

Kopientransport – Annick Meli

Inserate – Barbara Keller-Bergheimer

Grafischer Auftritt – Ludovic Balland Typography Cabinet

Team-Catering – Angela Knor

Barchefin – Adeline Sirlin

Chef-Operatuer – Johannes Wolfsperger