The Awards

The jury of the International Competition awards the Bildrausch Ring of Film Art as the main prize, which comes with a cash prize of 5,000 CHF, to the maker of the best Bildrausch film. In addition, it hands out the Peter Liechti Award. This is an award for an especially courageous film that “goes all out”. The award is also designed as a ring and comes with a cash prize of 2,000 CHF. The Honorary Award for Visionary Cinema is awarded by the festival directors at irregular intervals..




The Bildrausch Ring of Film Art is awarded to the most outstanding film of the International Competition – together with a cash prize of 5,000 CHF. The silver ring, which is forged to measure in the night before the awards ceremony, is engraved with the name of the winning filmmaker, the title of the film and the Bildrausch edition. The ring is decorated with a raw diamond, signifying the kinds of films that are near to the festival’s heart: one can’t see through them at first sight, they are multi-layered and they hold secrets – and above all: they are not polished to live up to prevailing norms. 

Former winners include: Lav Diaz, Teresa Villaverde, Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Ruth Beckermann, Guy Maddin, Shinya Tsukamoto, Alejandro Jodorowsky, Nanuouk Leopold, Emir Baigazin and Brent Green.

The award is designed by Christa Wegener (Artelier, Basel).


With the Peter Liechti Award, Bildrausch is commemorating the Swiss filmmaker and author Peter Liechti (1951 to 2014). The award aims to honour a work which stands out due to its narrative or visual courage – a film that “goes all out”. Peter Liechti’s opus embodies the idea of the radically unique. Risk-taking was his credo, and the generous, witty author and filmmaker not only expected this from himself, but also from his audiences: "... I want people to go out on a limb with the film, far out where things actually get really uncomfortable". This for him was the only consistent way of making films. Peter Liechti joined the first Bildrausch as a jury member of the international competition in 2011 and stayed connected with the festival during the remainder of his life.

The award was designed by Gabriela Frei (Goldschmiede Frei, St. Gall, Switzerland). It also decorates the bearer in the form of a ring. The silver object and its clear yet expressive style reflects the spirit of Peter Liechti. The ring has a golden circle embedded in it – the shape of a viewfinder. It stands for the attitude, the view of art and the world, which is awarded with this ring.

The award comes with a cash prize of 2,000 CHF. The Peter Liechti Award is donated by the Basel-based company Tweaklab and Reck Filmproduktion Zürich.


The Honorary Award for Visionary Cinema is awarded at irregular intervals to notable figures of international cinema, who have rendered an outstanding contribution to auteur filmmaking and film art. It is awarded by the festival directors. The first recipient was Paul Schrader, who was given the gold ring in 2018.

The award was designed by Susana Humanes (Basel). The ring is engraved with a selection of the most important works of the filmmaker. In the middle of the writing, between two diamonds, are the name of the award winner and the title of the award..