Awards Ceremony

On Sunday evening, the international jury – Athina Rachel Tsangari, Teresa Villaverde and Simon Field – will award the best Bildrausch film with a prize sum of 5,000 CHF and the Bildrausch Ring of Film Art (design: Christa Wegener).

For the first time this year, Bildrausch will also hand out its Honorary Award for Vision-

ary Cinema. The first recipient of the award is Paul Schrader. His accomplishments as a director, screenwriter and critic have been ground-breaking, and his unconditional efforts as an advocate of a sophisticated film culture are unprecedented. Schrader shook up and renewed the American cinema landscape time and again, both as one of the pioneers of New Hollywood and in subsequent years. The first Bildrausch Honor-

ary Ring for Visionary Cinema (design: Susana Humanes) is given to Paul Schrader as a sign of the festival's esteem, respect and gratitude for his everlasting challenge of the cinematic arts. The honorific speech will be given by the German director Dominik Graf.

The awards ceremony will be moderated by Niggi Ullrich. After the ceremony, Bildrausch and tibits invite you to a reception. The winning film will be screened at 21:00 hrs at Stadtkino Basel.



|  back